Canada eTA

Electronic Travel Authorization

Apply for Canada eTA

What is the Canada eTA

visa canada eta online

The Canadian eTA was launched on August 2015 and it is a mandatory entry requirement to travel to Canada. The Canadian eTA determines the eligibility of people who wish to enter the country for tourism, business, or transit purposes. To be able to visit Canada, foreign visitors must have either a valid eTA or a valid visa. Citizens of 60 countries are exempt from applying for a visa at a consulate or embassy. Nationals of these visa exempt countries are required to apply for the eTA before traveling to Canada.

The Canadian eTA is only available to certain nationalities. A citizen of visa-exempt country is eligible for the electronic travel authorization, eTA. All other travelers must get a Canada travel visa through a Canadian Mission.

Who should apply for the Canada eTA?

Citizens from visa exempt countries can complete an online application form to obtain their eTA to travel to Canada. Nationals of 60 countries and territories can easily and quickly get their Canadian eTA after providing some biographical details and their passport data:

  • Andorra
  • Anguila
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea South
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Montserrat
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn Island
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • St. Helena
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United Kingdom
  • Vatican City

Before completing an eTA Canada application form, each applicant should ensure that they meet the Canadian eTA requirements. Travelers who wish to visit Canada for tourism, business or transit purposes should apply for their Canada eTA.

The process of applying for a Canadian eTA is fairly simple and straightforward. The applicant can fill out the application form in a few minutes and pay the respective fee before submitting the application.

Apply for an eTA

Travel to Canada with the Canadian eTA

The eTA travel authorization for Canada was implemented to better screen travelers from visa exempt countries. Instead of getting a visa for Canada through an embassy or consulate, eligible travelers can complete the online form with their personal details and passport information.

Once approved, the eTA visa for Canada is valid for a period of 5 consecutive years or until the passport expires. If the passport expires before the 5-year period comes to and end, the traveler will need to get a new Canadian eTA with their new passport. When the eTA is approved by Canada’s immigration system, it is electronically linked to the applicant’s passport.

During the 5-year period, the Canada eTA holder can travel to Canada on multiple occasions, as it is a multiple-entry electronic visa. ETA holders should always respect the stay granted by the immigration department upon entering the country.

The eTA for Canada must be valid upon the time of arrival in Canada. Though immigration officials have access to an eTA holder’s data, it is advised to keep a printed copy of the approved eTA.